One of the great things about Office 365 is that you can easily share documents with other people, and even edit documents at the same time others are editing. This article shows you how to control who can edit your document.
To let someone else view or edit one of your Office 365 documents, follow these steps:
- Log into Office 365. and either create a new document or edit an existing document.
- If you open an existing document, you can share the document by clicking/tapping the Share button in the top right of the screen:
While editing a document, the button is in a slightly different place (on the main header), but does the same thing:
- The sharing dialog box will open. Start typing the name of the person with whom you want to share the document. That persons name should appear in the menu. When you see the name of the person, click/tap on it and it will be added to the list.
Select Can edit or Can view from the droplist beside the names. Select Can edit if it's necessary for the other people to make changes to the document, otherwise choose Can view.
Make sure that Require sign-in is checked, as this forces those other people to be correctly logged in.
By default, the people you share the document with will receive an email to let them know. You can turn this off by clicking/tapping SHOW OPTIONS and un-checking the Send an email invitation box.
Another way to share a document
You can also share a document by sending a link directly to someone. To do this, follow these steps:
Changing what the other person can do
After you have shared a document, you are not stuck with that decision and can change what the person can do. If that person can only view the document, you can let him/her edit it. Similarly, if he/she can already edit the document, you can restrict the document so it can only be viewed. And you can stop sharing the document altogether.